Trick or Treat: Here’s A Lollipop!

I Got A Rock!Well, next week is Halloween. This is one of my more favorite days of the year, especially when my son can enjoy trick or treating in the neighborhood this year. I’ve been in my current home for a little over two years now, so I seen a couple of trick or treat nights. One of the most annoying things that bug me about the night is teenagers.

There is a certain age when an adolescent would stop and think that he or she is too old to be going door-to-door for trick or treating, but I am surprised to see that this is not the case. Over the last two years or so, teenagers will come in groups of two or three and expect me to hand them some good candy. Mind you that they are older, stronger, and faster than 4-year old Jenny and her mother, so they swoop in and ask for a boat-load of the good stuff (the chocolate, of course) with greater efficiency. Many of them have no Halloween spirit, do not dress up, or even say a good “trick or treat” to me. Heck, some of them have more facial hair than I do, so that should have been a red flag to me, but I shrugged it off. Last year, by the time the toddlers came by, all I could give them were the Dum-Dum lollipops that were left over. I even tried to control the flow, but it did not happen that way. I sure that the toddlers did not mind the lollipops, but I felt bad that they did not get at least some chocolate!

So, I am going to do something different this year. I will be implementing a simple candy distribution policy. The younger the children, the more chocolate you get. That means if a group of teens comes up, they will get the Dum-Dum lollipops. If they have a good costume, then maybe a little chocolate, but only if they have a good Halloween spirit. Otherwise, here’s your lollipop!



