Paragent on Agile Development in Lisp

On the Paragent blog today, the authors of the newly open-sourced IT organization software talked about agile Lisp development for an article on InfoQ. Common Lisp provides a unique environment for creating software fast, especially if you have the right tools. For me, the super code ninja editor GNU Emacs with SLIME works very well. The system allows me to edit, compile, and test Lisp code fairly quickly. Paragent, on the other hand, created Cusp, an Eclipse plug-in for Lisp development. It basically has the same functionality as SLIME with some interesting additions.

One subtle item that I realized while reading the post is the speed of executing tests in Lisp. The relative quickness to execute a complete test cycle in Lisp is very fast compared to the mainstream environments such as .NET or Java. On those environments, compiling still takes a relatively long time, even though compiler may use techniques such as incremental compilation. Using SLIME, I could compile and test particular functions or regions fairly quick. On top of that, the unit test execution on traditional environments takes time to start up and tear down. I notice that a lot when I am coding in Visual Studio .NET 2005 at work. The code-edit-test cycle can be painfully slow. So slow that I feel the need to lengthen my edit time to avoid performing the tests. It’s not very encouraging, in my opinion.

So, the post made very good points about Agile programming in Lisp. It looks like Paragent is going to be a shining poster child in both the Lisp community and the Agile community.



