The Wayback Machine : What I Did 10 Years Ago

The Internet is a wonderful thing, but it has a serious flaw. It has a memory. An unrelenting memory, in fact, that seems to remember things that I have long forgotten. Today, it is common knowledge that you should not publish things on the Web that you would not publish in a novel. Ten years ago, though, the Web was as wild as the American Old West. People were doing some pretty wild things.

So, what brought me to think about what I was doing ten years ago? Well, I found out today that Borland finally sold its CodeGear software tools division after two years of trying. Back in 1998, Borland offered a IDE called C++ Builder. When first introduced C++ Builder was the revolutionary step in Windows application development. That tool help me create some tools quickly that Microsoft C++ could never do.

As great as C++ Builder was, it had limit support for DirectX, the relatively new high performance graphics API from Microsoft. Since multimedia was a hobby of mine, I started experimenting with DirectX in C++ Builder. I started a small site using my ISPs personal web pages and thanks to the Wayback Machine, you can see it for yourself and all its splendor.

As my interests in Free Software grew, OpenGL became my dominate graphics environment on Linux. The site was discontinued sometime in late 2000. It seems that the popularity of Free and Open Source software increase, C++ Builder could not compete. Borland later offered a free (as in beer) command line version of the BCC, the same compiler in C++ Builder, but it was the C++ Builder IDE that made it special. I am sad the unfortunate demise of this product. I wish that Borland would have open sourced C++ Builder to let the community decide its fate. It certainly would have been interesting.



