Reading Programming Erlang

A few weeks ago, I received my copy of Joe Armstrong’s Programming Erlang: Software for a Concurrent World.  I was quite impressed.  It was a great introduction on the Erlang programming language and more importantly, concurrent programming. After reading the book, I am not sure if I fully understand it’s true power.  

What do I mean? The idea of having a language that is built for fault-tolerant, distributed, concurrent, mostly real-time applications may come as a pipe dream to some. To me, Erlang is the real deal. It’s simplified view of concurrency makes it easy to create high performance systems.  It’s share-nothing attitude toward memory and communication allows for high process scalability.  The simple fact that Erlang is a functional language allows these two concepts to exist.

There is just no equal in mainstream languages. Some may think that it was designed at some University and it’s nothing but a toy language.  The truth is that Erlang was created by a real company, by career engineers, to solve real world concurrent problems, and used in real products. So, one cannot really use that argument anymore.

 As recommended by the author, I have to read the book again and again.  I hope that I am able to read it again before I receive Real World Haskell in a few weeks.



