Installing clbuild

After frustration with using an older version of sbcl and using asdf-install, I decided to try clbuild.  clbuild is a shell script that allows me to keep my lisp environment updated.  It is a little different from asdf-install, because it does not download tarballs, it gets the source code directly from their respective source code repositories.

So, the first thing I did was to get clbuild itself.  For some reason, I did not have darcs installed, so I had to install that first on my Kubuntu laptop:

~$ sudo apt-get install darcs

After that, use darcs to get clbuild:

~$ darcs get http://common-lisp.net/project/clbuild/clbuild

Make clbuild executable:


~$ cd clbuild
~/clbuild$ chmod +x clbuild

As far as I can tell, you need to run clbuild from this directory. So, the next step is to do a system check:


~/clbuild$ ./clbulid check

Now, time to get an update to sbcl. With my system, sbcl is natively located in my bin directory:


~/clbuild$ which sbcl
/usr/bin/sbcl
~/clbuild$ sbcl --version
SBCL 1.0.18.debian

Now, using clbuild to download and compile the latest version of sbcl:


~/clbuild$ ./clbuild update sbcl
~/clbuild$ ./clbuild compile-implementation sbcl

After a long wait, an sbcl implementation was placed in ~/clbuild/target/bin. To run it, use clbuild again:


~/clbuild$ ./clbuild lisp
This is SBCL 1.0.38.5, an implementation of ANSI Common Lisp.
More information about SBCL is available at <http://www.sbcl.org&gt;.
*

So, clbuild is using the newest version, but my older implementation is still there. Next time, I will set up SLIME with Emacs to point to this new target.



